2014 in lists

by Alba

DSC_1004

I love making list. When I was younger one of my favourite books was a book called ‘Lena Lijstje’ about a girl who made a lot of lists. I probably like t make lists to pretend like there’s some kind of order in my mostly unorganized life. Also it’s very practical.

Here are all my favourite things from 2014 combined into way too many lists. Music, YouTube, books, and other things.

Music: 

Favourite albums:
Thomas Azier – Hylas
Typhoon – Lobi Da Basi
Paolo Nutini – Caustic Love
The War On Drugs – Lost In The Dream
Taylor Swift – 1989
Ronnie Flex – De Nacht Is Jong Net Als Wij Voor Altijd

Albums I really should have listened to (more):
Run The Jewels – RTJ2
D’Angelo – Black Messiah
Nicki Minaj – The Pinkprint

Artists I never expected to enjoy because I was an annoying pretentious hipster (I still am tbh):
Nicki Minaj
Taylor Swift
One Direction

Live artists (I’m forgetting everything, I forgot what I saw live this year oops..)
Arcade Fire
Thomas Azier
Jungle By Night
Arctic Monkeys
Rolling Stones
also Kanye West would have been on here if he hadn’t canceled his gig – still sad

Favourite festival:
Into The Great Wide Open 2014

Other:

Countries I visited:
Rome, Italy
Essaouira, Marocco
America & Canada
London, UK
Hamburg, Germany
Brussels, Belgium

Books:
Bad Feminist – Roxane Gay
We Were Liars – E. Lockhart
Iedereen Kan Schilderen – Emma Curvers
Hersenschimmen – J. Bernlef
Ask The Dust – John Fante

Blogs:
marionhoney.blogspot.nl
stylethenatives.co
essiebutton.com

YouTube:

Favourite Youtubers of 2014:
Danisnotonfire
Amazingphil
Jack Howard
Lex Croucher
Jack & Dean

Others:
Rosianna Halse Rojas
Meowitslucy (Eve)
Doddleoddle (The Chain, She)
Shay Mitchell
Itsamemyleo
Derpinamode

Because for some reason watching people do mundane tasks/just going about their days/living a way more exciting life than I do is great, my favourite vlogging channels:
Fleurdevlog
Essiebuttonvlogs

Special shout-outs to:

danandphilgames – I don’t even like games, but when Dan & Phil trow their witty commentary and sarcastic humour into the mix I’m all game.
jacksgap – for being hella famous but still making great videos and doing their own thing, instead of going the challenge/tag/etc route.
danisnotonfire – for being the youtuber with the best music taste
pjthekick – for having the best side channel

