TRAVEL: London is calling you #1

by Alba

DSC_0941

I’ve just returned from a trip to London and I miss the city already. Oh what I’d give to live in London for a couple of months and be one of the slightly hipster-y people living in Shoreditch. I even kind of love the London underground, although I could do without the rush hour trains sans ventilation.

The first day started with a visit to the Malevich and Polke exhibitions in Tate Modern. I didn’t know much about Polke, but the exhibition was a pleasant suprise and I loved it all and Malevich was great as always. Modern art is probably my favourite form of (painted) art, that combined with the beautiful area and building Tate is in makes it one of my favourite museums. The rest of the day we spend walking around in Central London (visiting Hamleys and Liberty is a probably much recommended tourist activity but so worth it!), Soho and around Covent Garden.

DSC_0944

DSC_0947

We had lunch in Zedel, a beautiful Parisian brasserie in an Art Deco style with a pianist playing during the meal.

DSC_0950 DSC_0961 DSC_0965 DSC_0967

We didn’t eat here, but it sure looked great. Tincan, a restaurant in Soho serving tinned seafood.

DSC_0971DSC_0976

We did have dinner in Tramshed, a dinner and steak restaurant in Shoreditch with a very interesting art piece by Damien Hirst in the middle of the restaurant.

Thus concluded my first day in London. I didn’t take that many pictures, and most of them were taking in the automatic mode because I wasn’t feeling having to look at my camera and try all the manual modes (I’m still pretty much a photography noob) every time I wanted to take a picture. So these aren’t photographic masterpieces, but it portrays the trip.

 

